Quick Description

Hate movie spoilers? Good! You'll get straight to the point, quick, and spoiler-free movie reviews to help you spend your time and money wisely on movies. I'll give you the Good, the Bad, the Reason, and the Rating about each movie. ***Please disable any popup blockers***

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Star Wars The Last Jedi Movie Review


The Trailer:

(Spoiler-Free) Video Review

You can read my review by clicking on the link below:

REVIEW LINK HERE


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @EmansReviews

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Justice League Movie Review


The Trailer:

Video Review

Spoiler Discussion Video:

You can read my review by clicking on the link below:

REVIEW LINK HERE


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @EmansReviews

Saturday, November 4, 2017

Thor Ragnarok Movie Review


The Trailer:

Video Review

You can read my review by clicking on the link below:

REVIEW LINK HERE


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @EmansReviews

Friday, October 20, 2017

[CIFF Coverage] Marshall Red Carpet Interviews


I was blessed with the opportunity to talk with the cast of the Marshall Movie during the 53rd Chicago International Film Festival. 

-Chadwick Boseman shared what Thurgood Marshall would say to President Donald J. Trump!
-Sterling K. Brown dropped some KNOWLEDGE! 
-Jussie Smollett and I had an "Obama moment" together. 😂
-Marina Squerciati and Director Reginald Hudlin also weighed in on the importance of this film in today's political climate.


Video Interviews

Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @EmansReviews

Monday, October 16, 2017

[Article] The New Black Panther Trailer


The Trailer:

You can read my article by clicking on the link below:

The New Black Panther Trailer Is Here But I’m Not Watching


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @EmansReviews

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Marshall Movie Review


The Trailer:

Video Review

You can read my review by clicking on the link below:

Review: “Marshall” Couldn’t Even Go Full Marshall


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @EmansReviews

Monday, October 9, 2017

[Article] It’s Time To Tell Tyrese Gibson To SHUT THE HELL UP!


You can read my article by clicking on the link below:

It’s Time To Tell Tyrese Gibson To SHUT THE HELL UP!


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @EmansReviews

Friday, October 6, 2017

The Mountain Between Us Movie Review


The Trailer:

You can read my review by clicking on the link below:

Review: The Mountain Between Us Pulls A Fast One Us


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @EmansReviews

Blade Runner 2049 Movie Review


The Trailer:


You can read my review by clicking on the link below:

Review: Blade Runner 2049 Can’t Outrun Its Own Legacy


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @EmansReviews

Kingsman: The Golden Circle Movie Review


The Trailer:

Video Review: 

You can read my review by clicking on the link below:

Kingsman: The Golden Circle Review


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @SpoilerDashFree

Mother! Movie Review


Trailer:
Video Review:

Read my review by clicking the link below: 


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @SpoilerDashFree

American Assassin Movie Review


The Trailer:

Video Review:


You can read my review by clicking on the link below.

American Assassin Review


Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @SpoilerDashFree

Thursday, September 7, 2017

It (2017) Movie Review


The Trailer:

Video Review:


The Good:
"It" wastes very little time with getting to the good stuff. Within less than 10 mins into the film, we're already introduced to the horror that is Pennywise. What I really appreciated was that we didn't get the same old traditional horror movie setups. In most [jump-scare] horror films, we tend to get camera shots of an area that will later be used to have the monster pop out at you. While "It" does have a few scenes like that, it simply doesn't use that film tactic as a crutch.

Director Andy Muschiettie creatively uses a wide variety of camera angles and misdirection to place some timely jump-scares. Of course, pumping up the volume during those scary moments really helps get you out of your seat too. You will probably notice that this movie doesn't have one way to scare you either. A number of scare tactics that Pennywise uses on the other characters are very reminiscent of other horror films you may be familiar with. (i.e. The Exorcist, The Conjuring, Jeepers Creepers, etc.) It's that level of variety that keeps you from anticipating even the cheapest of scares throughout the film.

A pleasant surprise was the inclusion of so much humor in the film. Most of the comedic relief came from Finn Wolfhard (plays "Ritchie"). His wise cracking comments and foul mouth seemed to always lighten the eerie mood throughout the movie.

I think it's fair to say that Sophia Lillis ("Beverly") probably had the deepest role in the film as a character. Sophia delivered a great performance by balancing her complex emotions given her character's disturbing home life.

Of course, I've got to give some props to Bill Skarsgård who played the evil clown, Pennywise. While many will immediately draw comparisons to his predecessor, Tim Curry, I think Bill did the character justice. There was an eeriness to his character that gave you chills whenever you saw him on the screen. I thought it was really impressive to show Pennywise to be both charming and sadistic at the same time. If you weren't afraid of clowns before, he may just change that for you.

The Bad:
Unfortunately, "It" was not impervious from committing some of the major sins that a lot of other horror films do on a regular basis. The first issue was the revealing of the monsters or scary figures. In most of the scary moments when the kids are being terrified, the scenes are legitimately scary. That is, they're scary until we get a good long look at the actual monsters. Once we actually see what they look like (and notice the CGI effects), it kind of diminishes the sense of fear after the initial jump scare. It's almost like this film would go from Insidious to Goosebumps in a matter of moments.

Maybe this was a part of the books, but it's ridiculously annoying when characters in horror movies do the DUMBEST things in the movie. You already know what I'm talking about. They see something (that they know is a trick) and yet they proceed to go investigate. I'm sorry, but I'm not buying the whole "Well they're just kids" excuse because these are kids that know what they're dealing with at this point in the movie. If not, they at least would realistically be more afraid rather than to go investigate something in a creepy house, by themselves.

Lastly, again maybe this is a book thing, but I wasn't a real fan with the "over-adulting" of all the children. Many of the kids were not only using adult language and cursing, but engaging in a lot of crude adult jokes as well. It was also a bit disturbing to see what appeared to be the over-sexualizing of the children too. I guess if you know about that specific "bonding event" at the end of the novel, then it's kind of hard not to feel even more disturbed while watching this movie. (Parents be advised.)

The Reason:
Overall, I really enjoyed "It". Keep in mind that I'm speaking from the perspective of someone who hasn't read the book. (Though I read up on some of the excerpts.) I also haven't seen the original "It" (1990) movie or TV series in a very long time. So I'm really watching this movie similar to someone watching a Star Wars film for the first time, but already had common knowledge about Star Wars. (If you catch my drift.)

The film felt similar but different enough to be its own type of horror movie. If we were making this film into a salad you could think of it as a bowl of “Jeepers Creepers”, topped with some crunchy “Insidious”, and drenched with some "Are You Afraid of the Dark" all over it.

Since I didn't really watch "It" as a child, I never developed that sense of fear of clowns that people claim to have due to the original movie. I can probably say that this movie won't help you if you still have that fear. "It" is totally worth watching in theaters and I'd recommend checking it out.

The Rating: 8.5/10

My [Loosely based] Ratings scale
10-9 = A Must watch at any cost. 
8.5- 7.5 = Theater worthy 
7-6.5 = Matinee/rental worthy at best
6 = Watchable (If it's free)
5 - below = Avoid at all costs

Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @SpoilerDashFree

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Crown Heights Movie Review




The Trailer:

Review:
You can check out my review by clicking on the link below.

Don't want to miss future reviews and contests?
 

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @SpoilerDashFree