Quick Description

Hate movie spoilers? Good! You'll get straight to the point, quick, and spoiler-free movie reviews to help you spend your time and money wisely on movies. I'll give you the Good, the Bad, the Reason, and the Rating about each movie. ***Please disable any popup blockers***

Monday, April 22, 2013

Oblivion Movie Review (2013)

The Good: Good, not great, story line. Had a couple of twists that, if you really try not to pay attention to, may surprise you. Nice ending as well.

The Bad: A couple of predictable parts. The movie drags in some areas but the time is spent more on character development. Special Effects were nothing to really rave about if at all.

The Reason: This seemed like a mash up of Blade Runner and the Matrix. (minus all the Kung Fu and other cool special effects) Think something like Tom Cruise = Neo and Morgan Freeman = Morpheus. This would probably be a much better rental, and if you really wanted to see it, I'd say do matinee' at best. It was a good movie, but nothing that will rock your world.

The Rating: 7/10

Saturday, April 13, 2013

42 Movie Review (2013)

The Good: The emotion is STRONG from beginning to end. The emotional force brought forth by a stellar cast draws forth an emotional intensity similar (but not the same as) The Passion Of The Christ. You will feel the racism of the time. You will feel the embarrassment, the ridicule, the love and the suffering. Surprisingly enough, you'll probably also enjoy some of the comic relief in various parts of the movie. Harrison Ford ALMOST steals and takes over the movie (as Brooklyn Dodgers owner Branch Rickey), very similar to the way Christoph Waltz did in Django Unchained. Chadwick Boseman (who plays Robinson) DELIVERS! (That bat breaking scene...AWESOME and REAL!) The rest of the supporting cast ALL do an excellent job as well. You may even hate that particular "baseball manager" that stands out. (You'll know him when you see him)

The Bad: It's hard to say if this is bad or not, but this movie does get portrayed to be the "Jackie Robinson Story". However, as I mentioned Harrison Ford's character Branch Rickey is almost presented as a co-star rather than a supporting role. Again, while this may not be what many expected, and while it was a risk showing something people didn't expect...I believe it paid off. But I could understand how some people may think otherwise.

The Reason: I'll say this, if you've never watched baseball, or never seen it, this movie can definitely make you a fan. Unlike Django Unchained, the racism deliberately presented is not over the top, but comes off as very authentic. If you never knew a thing about Jackie Robinson, or if you never saw the 1950 original film, then you MUST watch this. Even if you saw the past films, or read the autobiography, you should still go see this. This is a GREAT addition for anyone's collection.

The Rating: 10/10

Enjoyed this review? Click Here to join our weekly email list. One email every Friday.

Friday, April 5, 2013

Evil Dead Movie Review (2013)

The Good: BLOOD and Gore Galore!!!! I have no idea how this passed for just a rated R film...but I'm not complaining and I doubt you will either. Very little to any slow moments. You'll be kept in suspense from beginning to end. The story line is so relevant and modern that it's actually understandable (in the beginning anyway) how the characters get into the horrible situations. In other words, the characters are only mildly dumb and naive compared to being completely oblivious to danger in old school horror movies.

The Bad: Wasn't as scary as advertised. But I'm sure if you're a ”movie theater jumper" you'll still jump in a few scenes.

The Reason: This is NOT for those with weak stomachs. If you couldn't handle the Saw movies then this may be too much for you too. Seeing as though I took the time to catch up on the previous 1980's Evil Dead films, this rendition did a masterful job of being a ”remake” for a more modern audience. If you happen to be a fan of the Evil Dead franchise, you'll also appreciate all the notable instances that pay homage to the original films. (Car, shotgun, chainsaw, etc) Definitely worth watching in the theaters and I'd venture to say it may be one of the best horror flicks (that's not really scary) this year.

The Rating: 9.0/10

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Silver Linings Playbook Movie Review (2013)

The Good: Robert DeNiro does a nice job as the father, and the rest of the support cast does an excellent job as well. The story line was intriguing from the very beginning. You want to find out what's going on, what happened in the "incident", and what's wrong with Bradley Cooper's character "Pat". What's interesting about this movie's theme is the very thin line between "normal people" who have issues and the institutionalized crazy people.

The Bad: 2 hours long, and the story just seems to drag a long, until the very last 20 mins. Once you find out what happened, what's wrong with Pat, and the incident, you pretty much just want to get to the resolution of the story. You just have to wait an extra hour to get there.

The Why: This is a "Crazy" love story (emphasis on the crazy) that does have much deeper implications and themes throughout the entire film. However I do not believe that the average movie goer would have the patience to watch, and appreciate this film. I also think that it was really over hyped. I wouldn't recommend the rental unless you get your mind ready for a slooooooow day.

The Rating: 6.5/10

End of Watch Movie Review (2013)

The Good: Gives a supposedly "real" look at what it's like being a cop in South Central. The character development was done pretty well because you actually kind of care about the two partners throughout the film. The action is pretty consistent in some scenes, but nothing over the top. Doesn't end the way you'd expect, but the ending was solid.

The Bad: If you are a police officer, or know one personally, then there are some elements to this story that are just not as believable. (eg: police NOT wearing bulletproof vests in the middle of a dangerous neighborhood.) You give it a pass, but it kind of defeats the authenticity that the movie was trying to put forth.

The Reason: Overall this movie wasn't the Training Day copycat film that I thought it was going to be. This is one of those perfect movies to rent or download and not feel like you wasted your time afterwards. Check it out.

The Rating: 7.5/10

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

G.I. Joe: Retaliation Movie Review (2013)

The Good: Plenty of action. Does a good job at laying out the story line for you especially if you've never seen the previous movie, or if you just forgot it (like I did). Dwayne The Rock Johnson does a good job at being that classic action star we've all come to expect and love. Bruce Willis was okay, not great. The Ninja scene was probably the BEST part. (and the only thing that made 3D a LITTLE worth it.)

The Bad: Channing Tatum. Just didn't care for him in this movie. I can't put my finger on it, but he just comes off as corny.

The Reason: This sequel definitely made up for the not so welcomed first G.I. Joe. There is little to no need to go watch this in 3D at all. Watch it, or rent it.

The Rating: 8.0/10