Quick Description

Hate movie spoilers? Good! You'll get straight to the point, quick, and spoiler-free movie reviews to help you spend your time and money wisely on movies. I'll give you the Good, the Bad, the Reason, and the Rating about each movie. ***Please disable any popup blockers***

Monday, December 9, 2013

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire Movie Review




The Good: The plot surely thickens this time around. We have an extra element to the story line that hints towards a much bigger event that's about to unfold. The opponents, all the Victors from The Hunger Games in the past are much more difficult than ever before. The obstacles and perils they face are definitely more Victors have to face are more dangerous and a bit more suspenseful.

The Bad: Even though the ante was turned up a bit with more dangerous opponents and difficult challenges, it seems as though they were hurried along. We meet the new opponents but, unlike in the first film, they don't seem properly developed. It's like we're just told "Those guys are really smart, and those guys are really mean, and those guys can hide really well."

The Reason: There doesn't seem to be much to say about this movie because it honestly didn't feel like a sequel. It felt more like a part 1.5 rather than a part 2. After watching it all, I simply felt like the whole movie was just setup for the next upcoming movie. (And yes they leave you hanging at the end) There are no after credit scenes, so don't waste your time looking for them. With all that said, the movie wasn't bad at all. It was pretty good if you're a fan of the genre, the books, or just the first movie. I would probably just suggest that this movie be viewed as a rental...maybe even when the 3rd movie comes out so that way you can just watch them in succession. Good movie, but not worth the rush to the theaters because it's a movie that spends so much time setting up the next movie, it doesn't do well as a stand alone movie.

The Rating: 7/10

Saturday, November 16, 2013

The Best Man Holiday Movie Review (2014)



The Good: The writing for this movie is genuine, believable and extremely well developed. Along with that, the character development was exceptional. Each character is given just enough time to give us a deeper look with their individual stories. There was nothing that was over the top or eccentric. (Tyler Perry PLEASE take notes)

The acting from every single actor was off the charts. Every character will have you feel some type of way. Even though I can't note every single actor, I will say that Terrance Howard was excellent comic relief. Rarely, if ever at all, could you sense that someone was "acting". The director does an equally amazing job with smooth transitional fades all the way to close-up shots that capture the raw emotion throughout the movie. You almost feel as if you're part of the family or friends.

The biggest testament I can give to this movie is that it completely broke the stereotypical stigma attached to "black movies". (Movies with predominantly black casts) That stigma usually would involve corny jokes, poor acting, and plot twists that you can see coming from a mile away. In this film, it doesn't matter what you see coming because it'll still hit you emotionally one way or another. You won't find that quality in very many films nowadays.

The Bad: N/A

The Reason: Probably one of the best descriptions I could give this movie is "REAL". This is one of the few movies that I had absolutely no control over my emotions. When the director wants you to laugh, you will, and if they want you to cry, you may just fight back a few tears. The authentic relationships that have been portrayed and developed help drive this movie from beginning to end. Even though it wouldn't hurt, you don't need to re-watch the original because they recap enough of it for you. This is the type of movie you should run to go see, get the dvd, and go watch it again 3-5 years from now. You've probably heard rave reviews about this movie already, and I'm here to say they're all justified. If anyone else tells you differently you point them to this page, and I'll set them straight. lol


The Rating: 10/10

Monday, November 11, 2013

The Raid Movie Review (2014)




The Good: The action is as realistic a as they come. The fight scenes and the choreography is what keeps your attention the most. You'll sit there wondering, "Are they hitting each other for real?" ... (Sometimes the answer is YES!) The action is fast paced, but slow enough for you to keep up. The cinematography by the director is on point because you get a complete sense of the gritty, dirty atmosphere that the main characters have to battle out of to survive.

The Bad: Storyline was weak, and left little to the imagination. (But who watches a Martial Arts movie for the storyline? ) The movie is a Korean movie, which means that it has subtitles. Once again, there's not much to the plot so the subtitles are minor, so don't let them bother you. I'll save you the trouble and translate the whole movie for the impatient ones. "We've got to get out of here!".... "No, we must finish what we've started". That's all you need to know and just watch them all kick butt.

The Reason: This martial arts film...I'm sorry, I don't feel right calling it "martial arts" because I think that carries an action movie stereotype that this film doesn't really fit. If you've seen Ong Bak, then you'll know what I mean. This movie uses an unorthodox, street fighting style that is very refreshing to watch for you action flick lovers. Definitely worth the watch, and I'm sure more than a few scenes will make you go "OUCH!" "Whoa!" and "Yeah that had to hurt". Rent it!

The Rating: 8/10

Friday, November 8, 2013

Thor 2: The Dark World Movie Review (2014)



The Good: Unlike the previous Thor movie, we're finally given a bit more depth into Thor's world of Asgard. The character development of Loki goes a little deeper and may change the audience's opinion of him. Rene Russo (Playing Thor's mother) was actually a bit surprising as a character, in a good way, with her supporting role. The enemies, which I'd like to call the JABAWOCKEEZ Elves, were kind of cool with the type of anti-matter weapons. One thing this sequel emphasized a bit more was the use of Thor's hammer and the damage it can cause. Also, in this sequel, you can tell that there are many more comic relief sequences that were inserted in the movie. Plenty of chuckles to go around.

The Bad: The action scenes seemed less "epic", despite the fact that you had more action scenes compared to the first movie. There was absolutely no reason to see this in 3D. Maybe to see some flying debris? O_o Even though this time around we see more character development in the main characters, most of the storyline is kind of predictable. Don't expect that many twists and turns...well maybe one, but that's it.

The Reason: I think this movie will obviously do well due to the success of the Avengers movies, but this movie may calm down the hype just a tad. I think that most viewers who enjoyed the first Thor, will also enjoy Thor 2, but just don't expect the movie to blow you away. It's a good watch, but honestly I think that many people can wait to see this later. If you must watch it, just don't pay extra for the 3D version. Oh and there are TWO after credit, and after-after credit bonus scenes. The first one is more than likely a set up for Guardians of the Galaxy (comic fans will probably appreciate that scene more) and the second one is just a little add on scene just because. Marvel fans, go see this...casual movie fans, wait for the rental.

The Rating: 7.5/10

Monday, October 21, 2013

Carrie Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Probably the best aspect of this movie is the fact that it doesn't deviate too far away from the original Carrie (1976) film, and still remakes the content to be very modern. It doesn't take very long for the suspense to pick up in the beginning. One of my favorite additions to this remake is the character development is a little deeper than in the original. This time around we get to see just how horrible Carrie suffers from the "Mean Girls" treatment from her fellow classmates, in a more contemporary sense of public humiliation. The mother ( Julian Moore) has a bit more depth to her character which draws an interesting line between her religious zealous and/or just mental illness. This movie gets a bit more graphic than the original towards the end and the "smashing" visuals were a nice surprise. Lastly, Carrie's powers in this movie are increased 10x! She may as well join the X-Men Movies.

The Bad: While it's nice to see Carrie's powers expanded, they are a bit all over the place and didn't really make sense. In the original she simply had telekinesis, but the fact that her powers are equivalent to that of a Marvel comic book superhero, it makes it just a tad bit harder to believe. The original story line kept Carrie's powers as potentially a scientific phenomenon, while this more modern version blurs the lines on whether this was natural or purely demonic. You'll almost get the sense that the director just gave her powers just for the sake of doing so, rather than keeping it within the context of the movie. There was a little bit of over-acting on the part of Chloe Grace Moretz only in the very beginning of the film. Rather than acting like a social outcast, she acts like she's a newborn child. Lastly, I felt a little disappointed at the "They're all gonna laugh at you" line. Just didn't have the same pizzazz I was hoping for.

The Reason: First and foremost, if you haven't watched the original 1976 version, please do. I highly recommend it. It'll give you a much better sense of appreciation of how far we've come and how well this remake really made the modern transition. I still think the average movie goer will enjoy this even if this is the first time you've ever heard of Carrie. While you don't have to run to see this in the theaters, I highly doubt you'll be disappointed if you did. Good theater watch, worth the money, and even better rental if you decide to wait.

The Rating: 8.5/10

Monday, October 7, 2013

Gravity Movie Review (2014)



The Good: The visuals for this movie are top notch. The 3D is masterfully intertwined with some first person cinematography that helps you really feel like you're in the character's shoes. The suspense of this movie is probably its biggest highlight. The fear of being lost in space, with little to no help, is a scary thought that is vividly portrayed by the director.

The Bad: The story-line is pretty weak. What you see in the trailer is exactly as deep as this movie goes in terms of the plot. The character development was also a bit disappointing. It's kind of difficult to really connect with either character Sandra Bullock's character outside of the one liners that give you maybe a shred of information about who she is as a person. Also some people may find Sandra's constant yelling, which is prominent throughout the movie, to be rather annoying.

The Reason: You can probably think of this movie as Tom Hanks' "Castaway" except a little more suspenseful and in space. Due to the nice visuals, it may be kind of hard to really appreciate this movie if you watched it at home, and not in 3D. However, due to the other faults of this movie (weak plot, character development, etc) it's a bit of a stretch to say this is a must see in the theaters as well. I'll put it to you like this: If you are captivated by the trailer, then do not expect much more beyond that. You will get it exactly as advertised. I will say though, to go see this movie as a matinee (or the "Dollar Theater/Show") and just save some money in the process.

The Rating: 6.5/10

Monday, September 23, 2013

Prisoners Movie Review (2013)



The Good: Hugh Jackman does a stellar job, as you could probably expect from the trailer. Despite his questionable actions, he does an excellent job of portraying his character's struggles with blurring the lines of what's right or wrong. All of the supporting cast, especially Jake Gyllenhaal, do a great job of keeping this movie feeling authentic. The suspense of this movie doesn't take long to take effect, and it doesn't stop until the very end of the movie. The story line was original and full of twists and turns to keep you guessing.

The Bad: This movie was a little over 2.5 hours long. While the movie does use this time to develop the deep plot and character development, viewers may get a little lost with all of the details. The big reveals are not going to be plain as day if you're not paying attention or if you missed a few parts of the movie. I can foresee some people feeling a little dissatisfied, but later having that "ahh-haa" moment once certain parts of the movie are explained. (I'm guilty of this) A minor issue I didn't like was the fact that they never really show how the girls go missing in the beginning. (Don't worry that's not a spoiler.)

The Reason: This was a very emotional and suspenseful movie. If you have children, or young family members, try to think of them while watching this movie. That will help you relate the characters and really appreciate this movie the way it was intended. Be sure to pay attention because this movie is filled with details that are meant to be pieced together from the beginning to end. The moral questions that this movie raises definitely helps this movie stay relevant even after the credits. This film is more than worth your time and money. Go watch it and come back and let me know what you thought about it.

The Rating: 8.5/10

Saturday, September 14, 2013

Riddick Movie Review (2013)



The Good: Vin Diesel is a natural action star. He gives you the cool, rugged and edgy demeanor that we've come to expect and appreciate in an anti-hero. The action scenes were good and some parts were unexpectedly more gory than the trailer promoted. Riddick's survival skills are put on display for the first quarter of the movie, so if you're into shows like Man vs. Wild then this will pretty much be the same deal, except on another planet.

The Bad: As with many action flicks, this movie's story line was pretty flat. It's pretty predictable, just like the previous movies ( Pitch Black and Chronicles Of Riddick). Outside of Vin Diesel, the acting is pretty bad. Characters make cheesy jokes that warrant a chuckle or two at best. The entire two hours of this story probably could have been cut short if so much time hadn't been spent on showing just how much of a survivor Riddick can be. That part probably could've just been assumed with a few cut scenes. Lastly, one of the coolest things about Riddick is the fact that he can see in the dark. Unlike in the original Pitch Black movie where his eye sight made him so unique, it's barely highlighted in this film. That's kind of like having a batman movie without him using any gadgets or Superman barely ever flying.

The Reason: If you were a fan of the previous installments of this film series, then you'll more than likely enjoy this 3rd sequel. It's pretty much the same cookie-cutter formula that the others used, so don't expect anything radically different. The rated R rating is justified as this isn't really a movie for kids given the adult language, brief nudity, and violence.
Wait for this and watch it at home. Good movie, especially for fans, but not really worth spending theater money on.

The Rating: 6.5/10

Insidious 2 Movie Review (2013)




The Good: James Wan (Director) is a probably one of the best directors to do horror in our generation. He's done other movies such as Insidious, The Conjuring, Saw, and Dead Silence Movie. (BTW, he's also directing Fast & Furious 7). So yeah, James has earned my respect in the movie making business. The suspense of this movie doesn't disappoint. While it's not directly "In your face" scary, this movie's atmosphere screams creepy. It's to the point that you would never want to trade places with any of the characters in the movie. The story line is probably the best part of this movie because it's so layered. Dare I say it's probably the first time I've seen a horror film dig ALMOST as deep as Inception. (Yup I said it) So be sure to pay close attention. Oh and most surprisingly, this movie actually has some funny scenes. Those ghost hunter guys provide much needed comic relief aside from the time you're gripping your seat from all of the suspense.

The Bad: While the story line is masterfully done, it can be confusing for a few reasons. If you haven't seen Insidious 1, then you'll definitely miss out on the connections the movie tries to make. If you're the type to get up during the movie and go get food or take bathroom breaks (pet peeve), then you'll definitely miss out on some parts of the movie. Because the movie demands that you pay such close attention, I can see casual movie goers potentially being lost and confused during many parts of this movie.

The Reason: You should watch this movie because this is how horror movies are supposed to be done. The director doesn't do the lazy job of just using the stale, over used formula that we've come to see in recent horror films. The horror and suspense do not take long to pick up, and the movie's run time will not make you go to sleep either. Again, I'd recommend seeing the previous movie first because this sequel ties into the first one, and does a lot of jumping back and forth in time. (sort of) If you don't feel like watching the original again, (which you should because it was good) then feel free to read the wiki page of Insidious so that you at least won't be completely lost. I would definitely recommend this as theater watch, given that you follow my advice above. Besides you'll probably want to watch this in the theater anyway because creepy movies like this may not be that easy to watch at home, at night, by yourself, in the dark!

The Rating: 8.5/10

Sunday, August 18, 2013

Kick Ass 2 Movie Review (2013)



The Good: The story line is given a variety of injections of "REAL". People get shot, lose limbs, get sick, and die. (That Sick Stick is no joke...well it kinda is.) The action and violence is at an all time high, and just like the previous film, done realistically. The action scenes don't necessarily come off as choreographed, most of the time. There are splashes of comedic moments which balances out nicely with the intense violence. Jim Carrey's character was enjoyable and @Mother Russia... whoa! Well when you see what she's capable of, you'll see why she gets paid $50k a week. (Her part was great!) As you've seen from the trailers, you already know that Hit-Girl's character is going to be a main focus, and of course she has excellent action scenes as well. Until the end of the movie, Kick-Ass himself seems to just be there because most of the movie is about the society he's influenced. Lastly, all of the character match-ups for the action scenes are nicely done because everyone is on equal levels.

The Bad: Not really much to say here. I could probably say that Morris Chestnut was not needed in this film at all. Actually I'll stick with that. He wasn't.

The Reason: The great thing about this movie was that watching the first Kick-Ass movie wasn't really necessary. The first movie gave you more of an origin story, which is always nice to know. This movie has done what many comic and action movies fail to do. Comic book movies either remain too PC for the sake of younger audiences, or action movies get so over the top that they are no longer even realistic. Kick Ass 2 isn't PC, it's gritty, real, violent, and entertaining. I'd definitely say this is a great watch. Do not let the name or comic nature fool you though. This movie is NOT for children at all. (Violence, Adult Language, and mild gore) Go see it and have fun with it. Oh and there's an extra scene at the very end of the credits.

The Rating: 8.5/10

The Butler Movie Review (2013)





The Good: Forest Whitaker, as expected, does a great job and is probably going to be getting an Oscar award or something for this role. He truly captures the persona of African Americans born during his character's generation. Oprah Winfrey does a good job at her supporting role which gives you a nice nostalgic feeling from her performance in The Color Purple.(I smell another supporting role award too) David Oyelowo (the son) does a fair job at showing the emotional transitions people in his generation probably went through. The rest of the star studded cast delivers by simply staying in their supporting roles. Even though they were not advertised, there were many more celebrity actors than the trailer gives away. There are sprinkles of comic relief which is good because there were some pretty dramatic scenes that may make some people slightly uncomfortable.

The Bad: While it doesn't necessarily ruin the movie, it would have been a little nicer to have actors who looked like, and acted exactly like the Presidents in the film. (Save for the actor that played Reagan) Presidential impersonators are not hard to find. While the make up team did a great job at aging Forest and Oprah, they failed tremendously at aging people like Lenny Kravitz or Cuba Gooding, Jr.

The Reason: This movie explores the racial divides, not just between white america and black america, but within the black community AND its generations. The Father-Son relationship does a great job at communicating the difficult and challenging racial issues during the pre/post civil rights era. Within that relationship, they were able to show the following African American responses: 1.) To love their enemies. 2.) To fight back. 3.) To have "Two Faces". The theme of the "Two Faces" presented in the movie is a powerful one that should not be missed. Beyond that, this story was an emotional one. From a cotton farm to the White House, all while being an African American when America was literally against you for all the wrong reasons...simply amazing. This is one of those films that should be watched, not for "Black Power", but really for a sense of reflection. For those who have grandparents who may have told stories of "the struggle", this movie does an excellent job at conceptualizing it for us today. If you're not an African American, it's still an important film to watch simply because it'll help remind us of what America used to be and hopefully inspire us to continue making it into what it should be. This movie is a must watch, but just understand that it's a dramatization, inspired by true story. It's a drama that may even have some teary eyed a bit. Go watch it, and take from it what you will.


The Rating: 8/10

Jobs Movie Review (2013)




The Good: The likenesses of the majority of the characters portrayed in the movie were very good. (Check out the side by side comparisons at the end of the movie) Ashton Kutcher starts off by mimicking Steve Jobs' distinctive walk and posture from beginning to end. (He gets an A for effort for that) The emotional range that is demanded from playing Jobs actually is met by Ashton. He accomplishes tackling Jobs' emotionally teary-eyed moments all the way to his cold, cruel, shark-like manner. The stages when Apple is finally a company all the way to the more recent years are probably portrayed the most accurately. One of the best parts of this film was the fact that you get to experience the unique sense of inspiration that Jobs would share with those around him.

The Bad: The production and direction of the movie really fails to develop the Jobs character for this film. They leave out crucial events in his childhood that is essential to understanding just why Jobs acts the way he does. (Being adopted, parental interactions, abandonment issues, etc) They only do a brief mentioning which just isn't enough. This pretty much leaves the audience just thinking that Jobs is either bi-polar or crazy, which wasn't necessarily the case. The movie was about 2 hours long, so that length of time may bother some people.

The Reason: Unfortunately due to the skipped early moments of Jobs' life, the depiction of Jobs isn't conveyed very well for the average person. You'll be missing out on what made Steve tick, so to speak, especially if you haven't read "Steve Jobs: A Biography" (which I do recommend), or unless you're an Apple enthusiast. I thought this movie would either be a " Jamie Foxx + Ray - The Movie" type of biopic, but instead it's more so just " Will Smith + Muhammad Ali" (That's not a good thing). This is worth the rental, and if you're really dying to see it, I'd suggest a matinee. Don't expect the "cool factor" that is connected with the Apple brand to be reflected in this film.

The Rating: 6.5/10

Monday, August 12, 2013

We're The Millers Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Jason Sudeikis does a decent job carrying the movie. His quick banter is humorous and he comes off as the sarcastic wiseguy that you're probably friends with. His back and forth with Jennifer Aniston flows well and the chemistry seems ok. Will Poulter, as Kenny, is actually pretty funny, unintentionally. His TLC waterfalls scene, and the Spider scene were pretty memorable. Though the story line wasn't that deep, it was actually very refreshing to see how this zany group of people, smuggling drugs across the border, were still able to address actual family issues in a comedic way. The ending credit outtakes were really funny, and definitely worth the watch.

The Bad: That chemistry I mentioned between Sudeikis and Aniston kind of gets a little played. After a while it's just a bunch of "F*** you", "No, F*** you!", and it loses it's punch by the middle of the movie. (I mean you get it, they don't like each other) Some of the jokes could be seen coming a mile away. (Kissing lesson) Oh and the touted Jennifer Aniston stripper scene is just what you see in the trailer. Hope you weren't expecting her to do any handstands or splits. (Not that I'd know if strippers did that sort of thing)

The Reason: Comedy is a very difficult thing to critique because obviously everyone has their own preferences and sense of humor. With that in mind, I usually gauge the audience in the theater for my barometer of comedic value. Let's use this scale: Not Funny, Chuckle-Worthy, Funny, Hilarious, and Gut Buster. This movie was funny. There was a consistent stream of funny moments, and maybe 2-3 moments of "in your face" shocking moments. The jokes on screen made people Lol, however once the joke was done, so were the laughs. When a movie has an incredibly funny moment, people usually will laugh so hard, and for so long, that they'll continue laughing even after the joke is complete. That didn't happen in this film. This movie was funny and entertaining, but doesn't meet the criteria of being a "hilarious" nor "classic comedy". Good rental, and if you decide to see this based off the trailer, do so as a matinee.

The Rating: 7/10

Friday, August 9, 2013

Elysium Movie Review (2013)




The Good: The action scenes were nicely done and Matt Damon does his job. Fight scenes were shot really well and made good use of the slow motion, rotational camera shots. (Something Man of Steel could've benefited from using) Surprisingly enough, this was more graphic than expected. There quite a few body parts flying around and "explosive" scenes that keep you engaged. Also the futuristic weapons were pretty interesting, cool to watch, and believable. Finally, the overall theme of the movie, the rich class vs the poor class, is a very intriguing one since this movie ventures to visually demonstrate a potential glimpse of the future.

The Bad: The character development seems weak. Outside of childhood relationships, the "love interest" just doesn't seem very strong. That weak development causes a good amount of slow parts in the movie. (Luckily the action scenes wake you right back up) Lastly, many characters come from different backgrounds, which means they tend to speak different languages, and have heavier accents. There are a few times when characters get a little too excited and their strong accents make it difficult to understand what they are saying. Granted you'll still get the gist of what they are saying, but I could see that being annoying for some people.

The Reason: The director gives you an authentic, gritty, futuristic atmosphere from beginning to end. This film is like District 9 + Oblivion...just minus the aliens. If you enjoyed either of those movies, then you'll more than likely enjoy Elysium as well. This wasn't regrettable to watch, but this isn't going to really stand out compared to other movies released this year. So-So theater watch, or a good rental.

The Rating: 7.5/10

Monday, August 5, 2013

Fruitvale Station Movie Review (2013)



The Good:The director and Forrest Whitaker, one of the producers, do exactly what they intended to do with this. Their goal was to make you feel for the main character Oscar Grant, and it's very difficult not to empathize with him. The portrayal of the character seems fair and balanced. He wasn't made out to be a purely innocent guy who happened to run into a tragic situation. Instead he had his pros and definite cons. Michael B. Jordan does a stand up job because throughout the entire film, you didn't see Michael playing the character Oscar...you just saw Oscar Grant. The supporting cast also came across as "real" people. From the loving mom, to the girlfriend, to Oscar's friends, to even the aggressive police officer in the station...each of them made you believe in their characters and helped the movie appear authentic.

The Bad: N/A (See "The Why")

The Reason: After leaving the theater, I was pissed, sad, and almost a little teary eyed. The rest of the audience left the theater in a solemn silence, as if it was funeral. It's difficult for me say anything "bad" about this movie because it's based on a true story. I can't say that Michael's portrayal of Oscar was corny or off because, well we don't know who Oscar was as a person. For all we know maybe he was a loving father, and son. We just have to go with what's given to us. Besides that, this movie really hit close to home with me on a personal level. As a black man, with locs, I couldn't help but think that I could have easily been in a similar, and unavoidable, situation just like Oscar. Having a daughter also didn't make it any easier for me either. This film comes out at a possibly convenient time after the Trayvon Martin vs George Zimmerman trial, and definitely brings to light what many would consider a major injustice in our judicial system. Should this be seen in the theaters? I will say that if the trailer seemed even remotely interesting in any way, then yes, go see this. I didn't regret paying a dime for it, and I'm sure this would be a good rental too. Prepare for an emotional ride. This is a movie that will be hard not to talk about without some emotions arising.

The Rating: 8.5/10 (with bias)

Friday, August 2, 2013

2Guns Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Mark Wahlberg and Denzel Washington make an excellent duo. Their banter throughout the movie is witty, funny, sarcastic and charming. The best part about their interactions is that they make you (the audience) feel involved in on their own inside jokes. ("Wink") <--- You'll get that when you watch the movie. The action in the film is just enough where it doesn't go overboard. The story line had just enough minor twists to keep you engaged. Oh and fellas... Paula Patton.... Blurred Lines...and I'll leave it at that. ("Wink")

The Bad: Despite Paula Patton's beauty I think she suffers from the same thing Halle Berry does. She's ridiculously beautiful but her acting ability is highly questionable. She makes these faces that seem a bit disturbing because you can't tell if she's depressed or just constipated. But the previous "good" I mentioned before quickly makes up for that. Despite the watered down twists in the plot, it still doesn't keep the movie from being pretty predictable.

The Reason: This is basically an action-comedy. It was actually a bit funnier than expected. It's not a summer blockbuster. It's not the deepest story that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It's more so just a "sit back and be entertained" type of light-hearted film. Go in with low expectations and I think you'll have fun with this movie. I think this is an enjoyable watch in the theaters, and more than likely a great rental to enjoy at home.

The Rating: 7.5/10

Friday, July 26, 2013

The Wolverine Movie Review (2013)



The Good: Unlike in X-Men Origins: Wolverine, we finally get a rich, deep sense of the struggles of the WOLVERINE character. The character development, for him alone, really separates the Wolverine character/movie away from the traditional comic book hero movies we've been seeing lately. Hugh Jackman has earned the role of Wolverine just as much as Robert Downey Jr has solidified the role of Iron Man. He makes you empathize with Wolverine's suffering so that you can finally understand the man behind the claws. There's a big twist that most people won't see coming towards the end, and it'll leave you semi-shocked.

The Bad: A lot of the supporting characters seem to be just thrown into the story without much depth to them. For example, that snake lady you see in the trailers, she raises way more questions than answers. While you really want the action to reach it's potential level, it never gets there due to the movie's rating. The movie feels like it was originally rated R, but then watered down to being only PG-13. That kind of leaves the audience in a type of limbo, so to speak, because you'll see really violent fights...with tiny amounts of blood. Another instance of that limbo would be the fact that even though it's PG-13, Wolverine swears like he's in a R-rated film. The action scenes only happen in a few pockets throughout the scene. Seeing that it's 2hrs long, one's expectation that this will be an action packed movie may not be met. Finally, the movie's ending falls flat as the highly anticipated fight scene leaves you with a big surprise, but mild action at best.

The Reason: Bottom line is that this movie was better than any of the previous movies that the Wolverine has appeared in. It's not an action packed, comic book movie. It's more of an actual movie that happens to feature a comic book hero. Parents may need to be advised though, because the PG-13 rating does seem very misleading due to the intense violence and the adult language used. Do not bother watching this in 3D because you'll only see one or two scenes that have it, and it won't be worth it.  Even though the movie's ending seemed lackluster, the mid-ending credit scene more than makes up for it. So please don't walk out too soon. Go see this movie. Good theater watch, EXCELLENT rental.

The Rating: 7.5/10

Friday, July 19, 2013

The Conjuring Movie Review (2013)




The Good: From beginning to end, you really feel like you're watching a movie from the 1970's. The retro feel horror/suspense was done quite well. The camera work is excellent and the director puts you in various points of view that almost make you feel like you're literally in the house. (The bedroom scene for example) There were some really suspenseful scenes that may spook you a bit as well.

The Bad: The "scare factor" just didn't live up to the hype. There were indeed many scary moments but it just seemed like it never reached a "Scary climax". You know, when they pull out all the bells and whistles to give you nightmares for days. That didn't happen. There seemed to be a few holes in the story line...which may have been intentional. Without giving anything away, you may find the plot hole in how a particular event causes both families in the movie to share something in common. Besides that the ending was a little anti-climatic because it left you with very little to think about afterwards. A true horror, in my opinion, always leaves you wondering about something scary.

The Reason: This movie was supposedly the scariest movie of the year, but honestly it doesn't live up to that title. If they wanted to say it was the creepiest movie of the year, then maybe. (Even that isn't saying much) The trailers do a great job, and in all honesty this wasn't a bad movie at all. I still think that Insidious or even Mama as scarier than this was. By the way, if you've seen Insidious, this was pretty much a 1970's version of the same thing. If you're a fan of horror movies and exorcist films, go see this. Otherwise I'd wait for the rental.

The Rating: 7/10

Friday, July 12, 2013

Pacific Rim Movie Review (2013)



The Good: From the very beginning, you are caught up to how the world got into the monstrous predicament. The film does such a good job catching you up to current events, that you almost feel like you watched a prequel. You immediately get a sense at how society, or the world, has changed. Idris Elba delivers a solid and very commanding performance. I think that his "Cancelling the Apocalypse" speech may end up becoming more memorable as time goes on. (You still remember "THIS IS SPARTA" don't you?) Charlie Day (from It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia) brings in some chuckle-worthy comic relief. Oh and most importantly, everything in this movie is big. No, let me try again...BIG! The camera work really helps you get a sense for just how big the monsters and robots really are.

The Bad: The acting, except for Idris Elba, was a little plain, but let's be honest, you only care about the monsters and robots anyway. The 3D visuals were almost non-existent! The story line wasn't really deep, and had quite a few predictable turns.

The Reason: This movie was basically Transformers meets GODZILLA!!!!...but better. The way they scaled the monsters and robots really makes you look back at Transformers and raise an eyebrow. This is probably one of the few movies that I really think should only be seen in a theater because the loud sounds and big picture screen are the only thing that does the movie true justice. Again, please do not waste your money on the 3D version. Also there is an extra scene after the first set of credits. I would say that this movie is entertaining and worth the watch in the theaters. If you rent it, you may feel like you missed out. Kind of like if you didn't see Avatar on the big screen. I think many people will be pleasantly surprised, especially if you go in with low expectations the way I did.

The Rating: 8.5/10

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

The Lone Ranger Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Johnny Depp provides nice comic relief as Tonto. He's pretty much Captain Jack Sparrow from Pirates of the Caribbean except dressed as an Indian. The film does a really good job describing the origin story of the Lone Ranger for those who are unfamiliar. It was nice hearing this film's interpretation of "kemosabe", and the Horse, Silver, is really weird. (in a funny way)

The Bad: The film is about 30 mins too long (run time of about 2.5 hrs) The plot really wasn't that deep, and the big twist at the end is pretty predictable. There seems to be two big climatic points in the movie. Once the first one is over(the big train scene), that's when you'll start to realize just how long this movie feels. Also, since the story is being retold within the movie, there are some choppy points, that may make it a little hard to connect the dots of the story.

The Reason: I didn't grow up watching the Lone Ranger, but I suspect that those who did will appreciate this movie much more than those who didn't. This wasn't a bad movie, but it just wasn't exciting or even suspenseful. It was entertaining, but nothing I'd center my entire night around. I also don't think that this movie will be making people fall in love with Westerns again, but instead just have a few nostalgic moments. (Especially when they play the Lone Ranger theme music) I'm not sure just how "kid friendly" this movie is because there is some killing and even cannibalism. (so parents just be advised) Rent this, and if you're desperate to see it, make it a matinee watch.

The Rating: 6.5/10

Friday, June 21, 2013

World War Z Movie Review (2013)


The Good: Doesn't take long for this movie to pick up the suspense. Within the first 15 minutes chaos is already beginning to ensue. The 3D scenes practically jump out at you, even if you see it coming. There are some really good scenes that will make you jump and possibly scare you. The plot does a good job of telling you about how the society and world has changed through the eyes of the main character played by Brad Pitt.

The Bad: Like in many movies, the children are annoying as usual. I'm not sure if it was just my theater but some of the audio was kind of difficult to make out. There are a few characters with thick accents and it makes it a little hard to determine what they are saying. The story line was also pretty predictable. Also, even though it's not the movie's fault, but a lot of the scenes lose their impact IF you've already seen the trailer. The trailer gives A LOT of the good scenes away, so when that part is coming up, you're thinking "Oh...here comes the part when...". (Never a good thing)

The Reason: Overall this movie was entertaining. If you like zombie flicks then you'll probably enjoy this. The zombies are fast as ever in this. However it's not a very gory movie that you'd expect from a zombie movie. (It is only PG-13) If you watch this, I'd recommend the 3D, unless you're a scaredy cat. Not something I'd make a mad dash for at the theaters, but if you went, I don't think you'd regret it. This would also make an excellent rental if you are on the fence about seeing this after reading this review. As a bonus, I think that after you watch this you should definitely read the book, World War Z by Max Brooks.

The Rating: 8/10

Friday, June 14, 2013

Man of Steel Movie Review (2013)


The Good:
The character development goes much deeper than any other Superman film to date. His background, his alien family history, and what makes Superman who he is, is done in a nice thoughtful way. (Similarly to how Batman: The Dark Knight's story was told except with a different directorial vision) The action stays true to what you'd expect from a comic book filled with super powered individuals. (Crazy destruction) The moral decisions that Superman (Spoiler, aka Clark Kent) has to face really strips away from the "Boy scout" image the character has had for so long. He's much more realistic, given the "alien circumstances" that is. Russel Crowe and Kevin Costner both played wonderful father figures. Henry Cavill really does look, talk and act like a genuine Superman (chiseled chin, hair, and all)

The Bad: 
While a lot of the super powered action stays true to the comic world, some of it went by so fast it was a bit hard to follow at times. The directors take a slight deviation from the traditional origin story of Superman and his relationship with Lois, so that choice may be hit or miss for some viewers. Some may notice it, or not, but there are MANY constant and deliberate references to Superman being like Jesus. (most blatantly in the church scene) The only reason this is considered as a bad is because subtle hints are one thing, but they really poured it on. Also there are a few secret hints in the movie, that unless you did some research prior, you'll completely miss. (ie: the hint of Batman related stuff in the movie)

The Why: 
Bottom line, I believe this movie would've made Christopher Reeves proud. After the last horrendous Superman Returns theater BOMB, I think this will definitely bring Superman back into the good graces of the public. (btw: the sequel is already officially confirmed to be made) This movie is about 2.5 hours long, so I wouldn't recommend watching it late at night. It's not fast paced so if you're getting tired, you'll miss some things, and it may ruin the movie experience for you. This is a safe bet to go watch in 3D at the movies this weekend. You’ll probably also enjoy it more if you happen to catch it on DVD as well. Oh and don't bother waiting till the end...there's no ending credit scene.

The Rating: 8.5/10

Enjoyed this review?  Share it and let me know what you thought.

Click Here
 to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews. Don't forget to follow me at @SpoilerDashFree

Friday, June 7, 2013

The Purge Movie Review (2013)



The Good: The plot was very unique and interesting. The theme of what's morally right or wrong is definitely a thought provoking one to think about while watching. The moral decisions that had to be made will really challenge your own sense of morality. The suspense will keep you till the end. There are a good couple of "BOO! AHHH!" moments. Also the ending is very different and may be unpredictable.

The Bad: The kids were STUPID and annoying as you could probably tell from the trailer. You don't know whether they are that dumb or if their parents should've done something else besides "time outs" when they were younger. There are some very predictable moments from the beginning, but you let it pass because it's obviously there to set up things later in the movie. The different ending may not woo the average movie goer, and I'm afraid some people may not appreciate the intent behind it.

The Reason: This movie delivers exactly what people expected and it's purpose...to be unique. What's important to take here is that this movie is more so about it's theme and NOT so much about all the killing and violence. The constant theme of society vs morality is an interesting one that goes much deeper than the shocking, edge of your seat, thriller many people may be expecting. I think that if someone were to watch this, just keep in mind "What if society really was this way...would I Purge? Would I support the Purge?". Seeing as though this movie will make some people think more so than entertain, I think it will be debatable on how well this movie will be received. Personally, I say this is worth the watch mainly because this movie's theme will be unlike any movie we've seen as of late.

The Rating: 7.5/10

Friday, May 31, 2013

Fast and Furious 6 Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Fast cars and action! This movie picks up right where part 5 leaves off. Despite the fact that Dwayne The Rock Johnson wasn't in it as much, his pairing with Vin Diesel was yet again, a good match-up. The comedy, though quirky, was chuckle-worthy. Even better, the ending credit scene was GREAT. It not only wrapped up the HORRENDOUS Tokyo Drift (part 3) installment, but it also set up Fast and the Furious 7 with a bang!

The Bad: The CONTINUOUS theme of "family" just gets run into the ground. If you've followed the previous films of this series by now, you get it. Also there are a good amount of corny jokes. Some are funny, and some are just well...corny. There were a lot of unrealistic scenes too. (eg: EVERYONE can fly from one car to another, or a landing strip that runs for 1000 miles.)

The Reason: If you're a fan of this series, you'll probably be forgiving of the "bad" that I mentioned. Even though the first 3mins of the movie spends some time recapping all the events of the series, I'd recommend reading the wikipedia of part 3, and watching parts 4 and 5 prior to watching this. There are a lot of references of things that happened in the previous movies, that if you haven't been following, or just forgot, you won't appreciate the movie the way it was meant to be. It's definitely worth the watch at the theater and will be a nice add for a dvd collection.

The Rating: 8.5/10

Now You See Me Movie Review (2013)




The Good: The storyline was original and best of all COMPLETELY unpredictable. Every character played their role perfectly, from main characters to supporting. Morgan Freeman did his thing. Mark Ruffalo will delight audiences similar to the way he did in The Avengers Movie. Dave Franco (Jack Wilder) will probably have one of the best scenes in the entire movie and will probably make you a fan of his. The twists and turns will keep you guessing till the very end. I'm gonna go on a limb and say 95% of viewers will be fooled.

The Bad: NOTHING

The Reason: You should watch this for the same reason you'd watch any movie...to be entertained and mystified. It almost feels like you are part of the audience in the magic show, and the movie itself is constantly playing tricks on you. There may be some things you'll miss, and if you re-watch the movie you'll definitely catch on. If you liked movies like Ocean's Eleven (2001) then you'll definitely love this. This is a must watch, own or rent type of movie. We don't get these types of original movies all that often, so upgrade your life and check it out. You won't be disappointed.

The Rating: 10/10



Enjoyed this review? Leave a comment and let me know what you thought about the movie. (Please mark ***SPOILERS***  before your comment if you're going to bring any up) Click Here to join our weekly email list. One email, every Friday, to get my latest reviews.

Saturday, May 25, 2013

Peeples Movie Review (2013)



The Good: Kerry Washington's family was interesting to say the least. You'll stay remotely interested in the story line only to see how it plays out...that's about it.

The Bad: Ohh where to begin? There are a bunch of loose ends in the story. Characters seemed to be put in over the top situations that didn't tie into the main story line at all. Seemed like the writers sat around and said... "Ok let's have them do this...no no... Let's have them do that." Or maybe it was all just horrible adlibs. The movie was about 1.5 hours and still seemed way too long.

The Why: If you went over to a party and this movie was playing in the background, you should get back in your car and go to bed. As much as you may want to support Tyler Perry productions, it's tough to do so when they are just bad...really bad. Don't you dare rent this.

The Rating: 4/10

Thursday, May 23, 2013

The Hangover 3 Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Zach Galifianakis shined again as Allan, and the rest of the Hangover cast delivered as well. A lot of the funniest parts are the quick banter or one liners that you have to listen for. The comedy will kick off from the very beginning. Also it's really nice how they wrapped up the entire trilogy by creating a lot of nostalgic moments with their references to the previous 2 movies. Ed Helms' reactions to things will probably reflect your own feelings in certain scenes.

The Bad: Expectations from viewers are going to be the biggest decisive factor. This wasn't the funniest of all the movies, and there were some points where the movie just went through the motions so to speak. Ken Jeong (aka Mr. Chow) just seems like a tired character at this point. You know, where the comedy is kinda forced because they're a part of the story and they HAVE to do something with him.

The Reason: The biggest question you'll have with this movie is "Does it make up for part 2?". The answer to that is yes. Part 3, to me, is what Part 2 should have been, while part 2 should have just been burned. Part 1 was hilarious because it was 1.) Unexpected extreme comedy and 2.) Allan just kept getting unexpectedly dumber and dumber. The reason why part 2 failed was because the "extreme comedy" just went over the top. We expected "extreme" and that's what they gave us...but then too extreme just isn't funny anymore. So while part 3 does have a few extreme scenes, overall it's a bit milder. I think that with Fast and Furious 6 coming out this weekend, you should go see this if you're in the mood for a comedy. It won't disappoint, but by all means, you can also save this for a good rental too. Oh and stay for the ending credits for the bonus scene.

The Rating: 7/10

Sunday, May 19, 2013

Star Trek Into Darkness Movie Review (2013)



The Good: From the moment the movie begins, the 3D visuals captivate you and will probably make you jump a few times. The story line was interesting and there aren't very many slow moments. There's plenty of action, and you'll probably really enjoy the characters just as much as you did from the previous Star Trek (2009) film.

The Bad: This is tricky because this "bad" can go either way. A lot of the twists, surprises, and tributes to the Star Trek universe will easily be bypassed by the average movie goer who is unfamiliar with Star Trek. One of the biggest shockers in this film was the identity of the main villian. However, if you had no idea of the previous Star Trek films with William Shatner, then that big shocker will fly right over your head. You may not even catch the tribute of the screaming of the name. (If you don't know what I'm referring to, then I've just proved my point)

The Reason: Despite this movie being more made for the (old school) Star Trek fans, this movie, just like the previous one, was still more than enjoyable. I think that if you want to see it, you should go see it IMAX 3D or just 3D in general. It's not often that there will be a 3D movie that's actually worth the extra few bucks. The best part about this is that you don't necessarily have to re-watch the previous film to really understand this one. Jump right in and blast off! (sorry had to had some nerdy ending)

The Rating: 7.5/10

Sunday, May 12, 2013

Side Effects Movie Review (2013)



The Good: The character development was pretty well done. The movie's duration was a decent length of time. 10-15 mins more would be too much. Jude Law's character will have you second guessing even his own sanity. The best thing about this movie is the original and creative story line. The twists and slightly unpredictable ending make the movie overall enjoyable.
Channing Tatum plays his best role ever! (you'll see the irony in that statement when you watch the movie)

The Bad: There are a few slow parts in the movie. The story line is also a bit detailed and may be a little difficult to follow. The detail and the slow parts MAY cause viewers to get impatient for the twists that are revealed in the end.

The Reason: This movie definitely flew under the radar. If you're the impatient type, then you may want to pass on this. It'll take some time for the movie to reveal twists, but I think movie-lovers will appreciate it. When it becomes available, I think this would be a good rental.

The Rating: 7/10

Friday, May 10, 2013

The Great Gatsby Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Leonardo DiCaprio does an excellent job as Gatsby. He's believable from beginning to end. You will constantly wonder about just who Gatsby truly is. (If you're unfamiliar with the book anyway) The love and connection he portrays with his love interest will instantly have you thinking about how great of a job Leo did in Titanic. The other supporting actors also do a wonderful job in making you emotionally connected to them as well. (You may actually dislike certain characters) The visuals were nice, but nothing that will blow your socks off. The twists and turns of the story line will keep you engaged.

The Bad: This movie was way to long for its own good. (almost 2.5 hours) There were many scenes that dragged far too long, and could've been deleted. Also having Jay-Z rapping in the background really defeated the entire purpose of the "1920's universe" the director was trying to submerge you in. It was almost like if you were watching Hamlet and then 2-Pac just starting playing the background.

The Reason: This was a wonderful story of love, money, and hope. I'd recommend this for my drama lovers because this was basically a classic soap opera, but set in the 1920's. Despite the wonderful acting performances, the length of the movie really hurts it overall. I also think that if you were like me and completely forgot the book, you'll enjoy the plot and the ending. Lastly, even though the movie went through great lengths to make it visually appealing, watching this in 3-D is NOT necessary at all. Go watch this ONLY if you're really interested. If you're so-so about it after watching the trailer, save it for a rental.

The Rating: 7.5/10

Thursday, May 9, 2013

Pain & Gain Movie Review (2013)



The Good: It has some funny parts. But those parts were chuckle worthy at best. Nothing that will have the audience getting a laughter ab workout. Some of the comedy will hit home with people who are familiar with the gym and workout world. Dwayne The Rock Johnson was good in this film, but nothing over the top. (He still acted better in SNITCH) Mark Wahlberg and the Rock did play off of each other well. Anthony Mackie, surprisingly, was also kind of funny with his "questionable" comments and situations.

The Bad: It was just over the top. If this wasn't based on a true story, you'd probably lose interest due to how crazy and unbelievable the antics get. It almost seemed like the writers were like "okay what other crazy stuff can we have these guys do?"...but as mentioned, this was a true story. *shrugs*

The Reason: This movie was so crazy and all over the place. The main reason why you keep watching is because you want to see how bad it will get AND because in the back of your mind you keep thinking "THIS was based off a TRUE story??? " This is a rental at best.

The Rating: 6.5/10

Friday, May 3, 2013

Movie 43 Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Hugh Jackman's scene, which kicks off the movie is probably the funniest and most disturbing of all the mini-movies.

The Bad: ...Movie 43.

The Reason: I should've known better. Whenever you see more than 4 top Hollywood actors in a movie (or just Halle Berry in general) avoid, Avoid, AVOID! This was the DUMBEST movie, but the most irritating part is that it actually had some funny parts in it! I HATED the fact that I actually laughed at some of the mini-movies. As you watch the movie you'll quickly realize that it's definitely a bad movie (on purpose) but then you'll only want to keep on watching just to see how much worse it can get. (And it definitely doesn't disappoint there) The other problem is that some of the REALLY BAD mini-movies are SO bad that they become memorable for being so bad. smh If watch this, DO NOT DRINK ALCOHOL because you'll lose more brain cells by just watching this movie.

The Rating: 5/10

Iron Man 3 Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Within the first moment you're pulled into the movie, and it never lets your attention go. The action is MUCH better and spread out throughout the entire movie. The 3D was actually done nicely as well. While you may go in expecting action, let me tell you now that you should also expect some nice comic relief. The banter between Robert Downey Jr, Don Cheadle, and the "kid" in the movie are really funny. You'll see that Puss In Boots scene and Lol.

The Bad: There are only two negative things that I can note that actually don't even count against the movie. First thing is that the Mandarin, played by Ben Kingsley, isn't what he's supposed to be from the comics. This MAY only bother comic book fans who actually know about the Mandarin's character, but surprisingly enough, Marvel made their creative change work. The second knock I'd have to give is the ending credit scene. It just doesn't give ANY type of hints for any of the upcoming movies the way Marvel has spoiled us with in past comic movies.

The Reason: Not many movies are able to live up to their own hype but this one definitely did so. Like I said, the ending credit scene is there, but don't get your hopes up like I did thinking that it will reveal much. Go watch it in 3D, and yes this is a movie you should RUN to go see. Anyone who tells you otherwise is on bath salts and eating spoonfuls of cinnamon.

The Rating: 10/10

The Road Movie Review (2013)



The Good: This movie pulls deep into the audiences' emotional tanks. Just when you think life was hard it gets even harder, and in some cases crazier. (If you saw that Basement scene you'll know EXACTLY what I'm talking about) It really captivates the loving bond that a father and son share, or any parent for that matter. It also takes a radical and interesting look at the lengths a parent will go just to protect their child. There are some really intense scenes and the best part of this movie is the number of moral decisions that have to be made, just in order to survive. You'll question yourself most of the time asking "Would I...or could I even make THAT choice?"

The Bad: This is a bit long and drawn out for a drama filled movie. It's very slow paced which may lose some average movie goers with short attention spans. (Yours truly being partially guilty) The kid's character was SOOO ANNOYING! One would think that if someone grew up in those post apocalyptic times that you'd be used to a lot, but this kid acts like he just woke up from a long nap or something. smh

The Reason: This is one of those movies that you may literally pray never becomes a reality. It's got some high's and low's which make you feel like you're on an emotional roller coaster. This movie may not be for everyone, but it's one movie you'll probably not forget after watching it. I think this movie will be hit or miss for many. I hear the book was excellent though.

The Rating: 6.5/10

Life of Pi Movie Review (2013)



The Good: The visuals were truly done masterfully. The story line(s) were very interesting. Pi's numerous ways of survival will keep you watching and wondering how he actually deals with being shipwrecked at sea with a tiger. Also the ending is superb given that it allows you to think/believe what you want.

The Bad: Some people may be turned off by some of the religious references of the movie. (even though it's not that type of movie) Average movie goers may also become slightly impatient with Pi's struggles with the Tiger in the boat.

The Reason: I really regret letting my doubts prevent me from going to the theaters to see this in 3D. Watching it on TV, even as a blue-ray, doesn't do it justice at all. While I thought this was going to be some Tom Hanks "Castaway" meets Noah's Ark, it wasn't what I expected at all. While this isn't a religious movie seeking to convert people to religion, it's a story about a boy's journey in and out of spirituality...but it doesn't end there. The movie does something that very few movies have done well which is basically leave the ending up to the viewer. You get to decide and make a choice at the end of the movie which I think makes this movie that much more special. Definitely worth a rental.


The Rating: 7.5/10

Monday, April 22, 2013

Oblivion Movie Review (2013)




The Good: Good, not great, story line. Had a couple of twists that, if you really try not to pay attention to, may surprise you. Nice ending as well.

The Bad: A couple of predictable parts. The movie drags in some areas but the time is spent more on character development. Special Effects were nothing to really rave about if at all.

The Reason: This seemed like a mash up of Blade Runner and the Matrix. (minus all the Kung Fu and other cool special effects) Think something like Tom Cruise = Neo and Morgan Freeman = Morpheus. This would probably be a much better rental, and if you really wanted to see it, I'd say do matinee' at best. It was a good movie, but nothing that will rock your world.

The Rating: 7/10

Saturday, April 13, 2013

42 Movie Review (2013)



The Good: The emotion is STRONG from beginning to end. The emotional force brought forth by a stellar cast draws forth an emotional intensity similar (but not the same as) The Passion Of The Christ. You will feel the racism of the time. You will feel the embarrassment, the ridicule, the love and the suffering. Surprisingly enough, you'll probably also enjoy some of the comic relief in various parts of the movie. Harrison Ford ALMOST steals and takes over the movie (as Brooklyn Dodgers owner Branch Rickey), very similar to the way Christoph Waltz did in Django Unchained. Chadwick Boseman (who plays Robinson) DELIVERS! (That bat breaking scene...AWESOME and REAL!) The rest of the supporting cast ALL do an excellent job as well. You may even hate that particular "baseball manager" that stands out. (You'll know him when you see him)

The Bad: It's hard to say if this is bad or not, but this movie does get portrayed to be the "Jackie Robinson Story". However, as I mentioned Harrison Ford's character Branch Rickey is almost presented as a co-star rather than a supporting role. Again, while this may not be what many expected, and while it was a risk showing something people didn't expect...I believe it paid off. But I could understand how some people may think otherwise.

The Reason: I'll say this, if you've never watched baseball, or never seen it, this movie can definitely make you a fan. Unlike Django Unchained, the racism deliberately presented is not over the top, but comes off as very authentic. If you never knew a thing about Jackie Robinson, or if you never saw the 1950 original film, then you MUST watch this. Even if you saw the past films, or read the autobiography, you should still go see this. This is a GREAT addition for anyone's collection.

The Rating: 10/10




Enjoyed this review? Click Here to join our weekly email list. One email every Friday.

Friday, April 5, 2013

Evil Dead Movie Review (2013)



The Good: BLOOD and Gore Galore!!!! I have no idea how this passed for just a rated R film...but I'm not complaining and I doubt you will either. Very little to any slow moments. You'll be kept in suspense from beginning to end. The story line is so relevant and modern that it's actually understandable (in the beginning anyway) how the characters get into the horrible situations. In other words, the characters are only mildly dumb and naive compared to being completely oblivious to danger in old school horror movies.

The Bad: Wasn't as scary as advertised. But I'm sure if you're a ”movie theater jumper" you'll still jump in a few scenes.

The Reason: This is NOT for those with weak stomachs. If you couldn't handle the Saw movies then this may be too much for you too. Seeing as though I took the time to catch up on the previous 1980's Evil Dead films, this rendition did a masterful job of being a ”remake” for a more modern audience. If you happen to be a fan of the Evil Dead franchise, you'll also appreciate all the notable instances that pay homage to the original films. (Car, shotgun, chainsaw, etc) Definitely worth watching in the theaters and I'd venture to say it may be one of the best horror flicks (that's not really scary) this year.

The Rating: 9.0/10

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Silver Linings Playbook Movie Review (2013)





The Good: Robert DeNiro does a nice job as the father, and the rest of the support cast does an excellent job as well. The story line was intriguing from the very beginning. You want to find out what's going on, what happened in the "incident", and what's wrong with Bradley Cooper's character "Pat". What's interesting about this movie's theme is the very thin line between "normal people" who have issues and the institutionalized crazy people.

The Bad: 2 hours long, and the story just seems to drag a long, until the very last 20 mins. Once you find out what happened, what's wrong with Pat, and the incident, you pretty much just want to get to the resolution of the story. You just have to wait an extra hour to get there.

The Why: This is a "Crazy" love story (emphasis on the crazy) that does have much deeper implications and themes throughout the entire film. However I do not believe that the average movie goer would have the patience to watch, and appreciate this film. I also think that it was really over hyped. I wouldn't recommend the rental unless you get your mind ready for a slooooooow day.

The Rating: 6.5/10

End of Watch Movie Review (2013)



The Good: Gives a supposedly "real" look at what it's like being a cop in South Central. The character development was done pretty well because you actually kind of care about the two partners throughout the film. The action is pretty consistent in some scenes, but nothing over the top. Doesn't end the way you'd expect, but the ending was solid.

The Bad: If you are a police officer, or know one personally, then there are some elements to this story that are just not as believable. (eg: police NOT wearing bulletproof vests in the middle of a dangerous neighborhood.) You give it a pass, but it kind of defeats the authenticity that the movie was trying to put forth.

The Reason: Overall this movie wasn't the Training Day copycat film that I thought it was going to be. This is one of those perfect movies to rent or download and not feel like you wasted your time afterwards. Check it out.

The Rating: 7.5/10